The Master, some prayers and an experience!

On this year’s Mahasamadhi day, I wrote how Sathya Sai Baba let me experience different shades of love in a matter of 5 hours. Today, not until I completed the below post, I knew I was writing about the potency of prayer. How He answered all those unfiltered thoughts that rose in my head in the past 5 days, and made me realise even they were a prayer. How today was just like the 24th of April where He took over the keyboard 🙂

Over to the entry:

While looking to add a picture of Swami in this post, I landed up in Radio Sai, where I usually never look for pictures. Guess what I found there - a photo series that says "When Paramatma decides to pen down"! Oh these little 'Sai'incidences :)

While looking to add a picture of Swami in this post, I landed up in Radio Sai, where I usually never look for pictures. Guess what I found there – a photo series that says “When Paramatma decides to pen down”! Oh these little ‘Sai’incidences 🙂

Yesterday’s darshan was… Ineffable ❤

This is why:

#I was talking about compassion fatigue with a few friends recently, and the discussion ended with what it means to live in Prashanti Nilayam. It made me reflect on my equation with Prashanti, and I thought unless I squeeze the essence of Parti within me, it would not be ‘living’ in real sense of the word.

It was darshan hour.

As the bajans of the different avtars and the bhava blended within each of us, He chose to show me His love: the love as He felt it, the deep, unsullied kinds, the love that He had for each and every one of us. Slowly I could see how that love had percolated to all that was Prashanti, where He had chosen to be in one with everything that was…

There was no duality, yet there was nothing as the One either. Even as the auspiciousness of Prashanti was coming to light, His signature in each of the microcosm, and the macrocosm unfolded making it exalting and sublime.

*Experiencing Prashanti Nilayam – Check

***

Parti ke Avtara. Mere Baba, Mere Sai

Parti ke Avtara. Mere Baba, Mere Sai!

#By the time samastha loka sukino bhavanthu rang through the air, for the first time in my life, I understood the prayer’s sanctity. Prayer of any other kind seemed frivolous in comparison to that.

(Incidentally, few of us were talking about this prayer, practising it for what it is, and offering that to Him. I was thinking about how I could do that RIGHT, do that BETTER. Theoretically I knew Swami said how when we pray for the world, we pray for ourselves too as we are part of the world, but knowing it is something, while feeling it is another. I wanted that feeling.)

Here He was letting me feel just that. That much coveted feeling – the warmth of loka kalyan – the thought in its fullest significance – which had eluded me until then. Little did I know He would so lovingly take His time off to show me that.

*Experiencing beauty of loka kalyan – Check

Ah. The simple carol of this novice struck at your love. Thank you Master!

***

#As few of you might know, I have always talked fondly of oneness, but seeing each person walk by, post Samadhi darshan, I could feel each of them for what they a(we)re. The ‘life’ factor in every one of them. The grandeur of each of our existence. Wah!

With a tear-stricken face I thought of my Master, who wrapped up Godhood, Prashanti and the world for what it is “in a 30 minute session”, without any credit, or effort from my end.

What do I say of an overpowering love such as this?

*Experiencing our uniqueness – Check

***

Interestingly, when I have heard people say how they could experience self-realization for a little while, because of the grace of a guru, I’ve always wondered at the awesomeness of such a prospect. I know this was no self-realisation, but I know without doubt this was GRACE ❤

And even as I am typing this out, I am reminded of a prayer that I offered Swami earlier this week:

“Pluck this little flower and take it,

delay not!

I fear lest it droop and drop into the dust.

I may not find a place in thy garland,

but honour it with a touch of pain from thy hand

and pluck it.

***

I fear lest the day end before I am aware,

and the time of offering go by.

Though its colour be not deep

and its smell be faint,

use this flower in thy service

and pluck it while there is time.”

Pluck He did, this faintest flower.

If I introspect, it is not like they were prayers, they were perhaps fleeting thoughts, or rather earnestness of some sort. A wanting. I didn’t mouth any of these, or relate to these as prayers. But He answered ’em in this one week. That is why when an another verse of Tagore resounded within me as the week closed, I could but only feel humbled.

“I ask for a moment’s indulgence to sit by thy side.

The works that I have in hand

I will finish afterwards.

Away from the sight of thy face

my heart knows no rest nor respite,

and my work becomes an endless toil

in a shoreless sea of toil.

***

Today the summer has come at my window

with its sighs and murmurs;

and the bees are plying their minstrelsy

at the court of the flowering grove.

Now it is time to sit quiet, face to face with thee,

and to sing dedication of life

in this silent and overflowing leisure.” 🙂

After the episode I told Him, “Master. I do not even know how to classify this.” He compassionately replied, “Labels don’t matter.” Even as I struggle to give sense to the episode, I know I want to write it anyway, because what else can fill me Lord with such joy, but these trysts I have with you in the morning darshans ❤

With love & gratitude,

SB.

Would love to hear from you, dear reader :)

