Tail Tales: Ah! Sunday :)

Tra la la… How much I love this day of the week.

Okay, I get it, for me every day is a Sunday. That’s the magic of dog life, I guess. 😀 Mum and dad on the other hand, have all the time in the world only today, and I like that extra bit of attention.

I still remember the first Sunday after they got me home, we went upstairs, and played with a furry little fluorescent ball next to a nearby water tank. Ah! I had the time of my life. It was just a beginning of all my play times, my evenings/mornings out to the fields, walks and more, but don’t they say firsts are always cherished the best? ❤

I cherish mine too. I got to see my mum feigning calm, assertive energy when she sees me fall, while I know all she wants to do is come to me, cuddle up, and assure – all is fine, my cute little dog fellow. 

Mothers! Whew! They need to chill. My new mother is slowly getting the hang of it. I mean, she has listened to Cesar Millan, the Dog Whisperer, for a reason. I hear when she was an aunt, she couldn’t be anywhere near her nephew as he learnt bicycle. If he came anywhere near the edge of terrace, or something sharp, slushy on road, she went bonkers. She was awestruck when she got to know about the Japanese way of raising kids, which was much in contrast to the kind of attention that kids get in other parts of the world.

That evening when I sat next to her, I made sure she realized that’s how mothers in the animal kingdom work too. She nodded in understanding, as she knew she had the Cesar’s video to vouch for it. “I have a lot to learn from you Phoebe, especially one of unconditional love, and living by the moment” she had said.

Like me, my new parents are growing too. In understanding each other, our worlds, how we are infinitely different, yet how well a bond can bridge that gap.

I too had my earliest lesson on the night of our first day together. I was in the living room, away from my new family, away from my old family, away from all that I knew, or could ever know. I had to deal with night hours by myself. I whined and whimpered for a while. I got assuaged now and then, but it had doses of discipline interspersed. I was just getting to know my space in this new world, I decided to take it in one at a time.

In the coming days, I realized how all of us will have our good days and bad, of learning and unlearning – how more of all this awaits us in the coming days, months and years.

Do you know what else I realized we wait for in common?

A good Sunday with our loved ones 🙂 I am about to have mine, how about you? 🙂

4 thoughts on “Tail Tales: Ah! Sunday :)

Would love to hear from you, dear reader :)

