Gitanjali (poetic offerings)!

I have read Gitanjali time and again, and each time it captivates me as never before. The earnestness to seek the lord has been expressed in the most sublime way possible. The whole book is so endearing, and there are certain lines which strikes a chord every time I read it. They either take us to a trance, or make us introspect, or shed tears even. Over to few of those lines for the sheer joy of it:

At the immortal touch of Thy hands my little heart loses its limits in joy and gives birth to utterance ineffable.

Wah. So very true 😉  

I ask for a moment’s indulgence to sit by Thy side. The works that I have in hand I will finish afterwards.

To be God’s lover is one wonderful job. I like the ‘attitude’/the ‘air’ with which he says “These worldly works, I will finish them afterwards”. If only one could let go things that easily 😮

Deliverance? Where is the deliverance to be found? Our Master Himself has joyfully taken upon Him the bonds of creation; He is bound with us all forever.

This is a perception that I have never ever thought of. Pretty cool 😉
Gitanjali - poetic offerings!

It is the most distant course that comes nearest to thyself, and that training is the most intricate which leads to the utter simplicity of a tune.

Again, so true. It takes time to realize one’s latent divinity, more often than not we end up taking the long route 😕

My desires are many and my cry is pitiful, but ever didst Thou save me by hard refusals; and this strong mercy has been wrought into my life through and through. There are times when I languidly linger and times when I awaken in a hurry in search of my goal; but cruelly Thou hidest Thyself from before me.

Beautiful. I love it. “…but ever didst Thou save me by hard refusalsand this strong mercy has been wrought into my life through and through…” The ceiling of desires is an essential pre-requisite in one’s spiritual sojourn, but then there are these times when one tends to focus on the material life, and we ask either for this or that, but the lord makes sure that we don’t get it for our own good – mostly, spiritual good. Thanks a lot Sir. Tagore for this line 🙂

And “cruelly Thou hidest Thyself from before me“. He just hit right out of the park. One thing that you wait for, as a devotee, is the lord, and when He doesn’t come that easily, it hurts, but every single emotion that the devotee experiences is in itself bliss, is it not? Love you, lord!

Day by day thou art making me worthy of Thy full acceptance by refusing me ever and anon, saving me from perils of weak and uncertain desire.

Again, love it!

By all means they try to hold me secure who love me in this world. But it is otherwise with Thy love which is greater than theirs, and thou keepest me free.

A simple way to explain His unconditional love 🙂

That I want Thee and only Thee – let my heart repeat without end. All desires that distract me, day and night are false and empty to the core.

Let me repeat!!!

I stood speechless with shame when my name thou didst ask. Indeed, what I had done for thee to keep me in remembrance?

Yeah, this is one other feel that a devotee gets time and again. After all, we are but tiny waves in the ocean of His love. There are these occasions when one is swept away by the unreal world (maya), and at the end of the day if you feel you have neglected the spiritual streak within you, it badly hurts. You then feel what have I done for you my lord? Ah. That would hurt.

Oh, how, indeed, could I tell them that for thee I wait, and that thou hast promised to come? How could I utter for shame that I keep for my dowry this poverty? Ah, I hug this pride in the secret of my heart.

Yeah, this is what happens in the present day world, where people not only feel spirituality is for the old, but also think that waiting for god is ridiculous. “Oh, how, indeed, could I tell them that for thee I wait, and that thou hast promised to come? How could I utter for shame that I keep for my dowry this poverty? Ah, I hug this pride in the secret of my heart.”  – Mindblowing!

But the simple carol of this novice struck at your love.

When god does respond in His subtle ways, there is this surprise and awe. You tend to say, “Don’t tell me you love what I am doing?Are you serious? You mean to say you are really happy?!!” And when He does assuage you that He is happy, it takes you to one of the sublime heights! Makes you go yay!

No wonder this book bagged a noble prize ❤

9 thoughts on “Gitanjali (poetic offerings)!

  1. excellent collections of the sweetest parts of Gurudev’s immortal musings! And your comments were apt and inspited the appreciation of the content in equal wave length as the grest Poet laurete. Kudos kutty.

    Like

  2. “By all means they try to hold me secure who love me in this world. But it is otherwise with Thy love which is greater than theirs, and thou keepest me free.”These lines are sublime, whichever way one looks at it!!!

    Like

  3. I love them all :)but this one is my favorite – By all means they try to hold me secure who love me in this world. But it is otherwise with Thy love which is greater than theirs, and thou keepest me free.

    Like

  4. oh my god so much depth and purity in each and every word. Really amazing.

    please try Aurobindo’s “SAVITHRI”. This is also really amazing book. After writing this book Aurobindo was in some meditative trance for years and stopped speaking. He never spoke again except on nov 24th 1926. on nov 24th he opened his mouth for saying to his disciples that a lord krishna had incarnated on earth and somethings about swami. this was written in his biography.

    Like

Would love to hear from you, dear reader :)

