Romancing the Indian way…

#arranged marriages #india #traditional romance

The To-be-wed-girl says:    

 
Heard I have a million times 
What charm is there
In an arranged bond?
I, for one reason,
Couldn’t answer then
 
Now that my turn has come,
Hear me say:
What more charm
Can one bargain
Than the tingling feel
Of this brand new bond?
   
With grandpa just hurrying
Only to say –
“Now, My darling bride,
Come on! Quick here –
This side”
  
  Tiptoed I – to the
Farthest aisle
As uncles and aunts
Hooted along;
  
 
Chuckling aloud
Mommy told –
“The one in the white shirt
Is all yours to flirt.”
 
“Worth a watch,” isn’t he?
Nudged my dad
“Go on then –
Speak to him.”
   
Walked I slowly
Into the room,
Only to be bewitched by
The groom.
 
For, spoke he not a 1000 sonnet
Or showcased a heroic valour 
Tender and subtle, he cut me thru’:
Charmed I was,
By my beloved beau!
  
  “Loving already?!”
The sisters peeped in
“At first sight” –
The groom winked
 
And what did my darling sis say?
“Not a thing!!!
But she did give a smile
That shook me deep within.”
    
“Wahoo sis!
Now that’s romantic.”
Fully blushing –
I ran to my dad
Just to whisper –
“He is my man!”
   
Smiled the lad
From the rear end;
His carefree ebullience
Spreading the radiance
  
That moment onward
Clearly it dawned –
There is more than
Charm to this willed bond.
There is more than charm to this willed bond.

  
The To-be-wed-guy says:
  
Of Krishna and cupids, of Terasa and Hewitts,
 Thought I in my mind’s eye.
That to me was love, till y’day
An apparent radiant in the distant bay.
Yeah, love to me then was eww
Love to me then was a meaningless hue.
  
  
But then you came along
Enthralling me to an eternal bond.
With your exquisite elegance
and elusive exuberance. Wah! 
  Love to me now is you!
Yes, Love to me now is YOU 🙂
 
6 thoughts on “Romancing the Indian way…

  1. Hello! I’ve been reading your weblog for a long time now and finally got the
    courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from Huffman Tx!
    Just wanted to mention keep up the great job!

    Like

Would love to hear from you, dear reader :)

